

André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy 2021

Call for nominations v. 1.1 2021-02-19

The Young Academy of Europe Prize is awarded annually to an early to mid-career professional in recognition of their outstanding achievements and contributions to key areas of the YAE. In 2019, the YAE Prize was named "André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy" in honor of the late YAE Founding Chair, André Mischke. The prize is awarded to support and promote: science, evidence-based policy making, science communication, and future generation scientists and scholars in Europe.

2021 edition

Currently, the search committee is looking for nominations for the 2021 award. Nominations should be sent to <u>yae-prize@yacadeuro.org by</u> 15 April 2021 at the latest, and should include a short CV (max. 2 pages) accompanied by a short statement (max. 1 page) describing key activities and providing evidence of relevant accomplishments for which the candidate is nominated for.

Selection criteria and procedure

The André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy honours outstanding contributions and achievements that align with the core mission of the YAE. It is awarded on recommendation of the YAE Board and the YAE Prize Search Committee (see below). The YAE prize (EUR 1 000, contingent on sufficient available funds) will be officially awarded at the Annual Meeting of the YAE.

Eligibility

- 1. Candidates should be early-to mid career academics or professionals (e.g., max 15 years after obtained PhD) of any nationality, but who are working/have worked in Europe, or abroad at a European Institution.
- 2. The candidate is neither a YAE member nor a YAE alumna/alumnus.
- 3. Self-nominations are not accepted.



General criteria for the André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy

Candidates will have demonstrated at least one of the following

- Important contributions to European science policy, by actively reaching out and engaging with policy makers in an attempt to influence science policy and contribute to the development of a European science agenda for the coming decades
- Important contributions to evidence-based policy at the national or European level
- Important contributions to science communication and citizen science, especially facilitating communication between scientists and scholars with the general public in Europe, with an emphasis on societal issues, quality of life and standards of living in Europe
- Important contributions to strengthening the solidarity and networking amongst exceptional young researchers and scholars in Europe in order to create a pool of information, pass on experience, give feedback, and provide active support to colleagues across Europe and future generations of leading scientists

Prize

- The awardee of the André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy will be invited to give the André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy Lecture at the YAE Annual meeting following the award.
- The awardee will receive a cash prize of EUR 1 000.

Procedure for identifying candidate to receive the award

- All members of the YAE, European National Young Academies, Academia Europaea and other European (scientific) organizations are invited to nominate an outstanding candidate for the YAE prize. Self-nominations are not accepted.
- Nominations must provide the following:
 - Summary of key achievements (1 Page)
 - Short CV (max 2 pages)
- The closing date for nomination for the 2021 edition is **April 15, 2021**.
- The YAE Prize Search Committee will evaluate nominations and obtain references if needed, and prepare a shortlist. The Awardee will be selected by a vote of the currently elected Board of the YAE from this shortlist.
- Second and third placed nominations will be kept for the next year's edition.

Young Academy of Europe



YAE Prize Search Committee

The search committee for the André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy has two representatives for each of the three domains (Life Sciences; Physical Sciences and in Engineering; Social Sciences and Humanities) and includes the YAE Chair and the Chair of the YAE Advisory Council.

Representatives Life Sciences

Arild Husby Leif Schroeder

Representatives Physical Sciences and in Engineering

Nicole Grobert Marcel Swart

Representatives Social Sciences and Humanities

Genoveva Martí Jörg Peltzer

Advisory members

Anna von der Heydt Alban Kellerbauer Gemma Modinos

Young Academy of Europe



YAE Prize 2017: Rianne Letschert



Prof. Letschert has had an outstanding academic career, working in the field of international law, with a focus on minority rights and human rights, and is now the Rector Magnificus (equivalent to Provost) of Maastricht University – the youngest female rector ever appointed at a Dutch university. She is a vocal and active advocate of science communication for young people, and for promoting diversity. She had been given the award for the "Top Female Role Model in Science" from Tilburg University.

YAE Prize 2018: Gabi Lombardo



Dr Lombardo is an expert in global research funding, research and education policies, and international higher education. She has high-level experience in the interface of strategy, policy, research and business. She is a constant promoter of the value of Social Sciences and Humanities in her position as the Director of The European Alliance for SSH, which is the largest science policy organization for SSH in Europe, and has a specific approach to give voice in the science policy debate to an international scientific community.

YAE Prize 2019: Janusz Bujnicki



Prof. Bujnicki is working in biology, focusing on bioinformatics, structural biology and synthetic biology. In 2016 he has been elected to the Polish Academy of Sciences as the youngest member of the Academy. Bujnicki has been involved in various scientific organizations and bodies active in the area of science and policy, both in Poland and abroad, among which a second term in the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors within the Scientific Advice Mechanism for the European Commission.

YAE Prize 2020: Grant Hill-Cawthorne



Dr. Hill-Cawthorne is a medical microbiologist and Principal Science adviser to the UK Parliament. Since May 2018, he is Head of the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST), the science advice unit within the UK Parliament that bridges research and policy. Devoted to engage younger scholars in science policy, he developed a Parliamentary Academic Fellowship Scheme to embed academics in parliamentary departments for discrete research projects designed by Parliament. For 2020, he is the President of the European Parliamentary Technology Assessment network, the international organisation for legislative science advice units.