A new conference series has been started by the Wigner Research Centre for Physics,  PP2022 -- Margaret Island Symposium 2022 on Vacuum Structure, Particles, and Plasmas. The first event is still ongoing in the Ensana Hotel Margaret Island in these days.




This event is dedicated to assembling experts on the fields of plasma and particle physics, in particular on laser induced fusion and particle production in intense fields. These research areas are promising for future development, they connect to the use of large scale international facilities, like CERN and ELI.

Main Topics are:

  • Perspectives on Laser and Particle Beam Aided Fusion
  • Particle Production in Strong Fields
  • Field Theory and Strongly Interacting Plasmas
  • New Methods and Mathematical Techniques

We partially dedicate this event to celebrate Johann Rafelski, who has his birthday We present an additional occasion to review the above research topics in which he was making contributions. Jan was a Fulbright Fellow at the Budapest Wigner Research Centre for Physics during Summers in 2019-2021. Jan has just been elected as an external member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences.

Keynote speakers:

  •     Rob Pisarski, Brookhaven National Lab, USA
  •     Constantino Tsallis, CBPF, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  •     Johann Rafelski, University of Arizona, Tucson, USA
  •     Wolfgang Schleich, University of Ulm, Germany
  •     Norbert Kroo, Wigner Research Centre for Physics

Invited Speakers:

  •     Leonid Glozman, Uni Graz
  •     Owe Philipsen, Uni Frankfurt
  •     Sonja Kabana, CERN
  •     Chihiro Sasaki, Wroclaw
  •     Martin Formanek, MPI Heidelberg
  •     Xiaojun Yao, MIT
  •     Laszlo Csernai, University of Bergen

International Organizing Committee:

  •     Berndt Müller (Chair), Brookhaven National Laboratory & Duke University
  •     Johann Rafelski, University of Arizona, Tucson    
  •     Horst Stöcker, FIAS and GSI, Frankfurt    
  •     Constantino Tsallis, Centro Brasileiro de Pesquisas Físicas Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brazil
  •     Huan Z Huang, University of Californa Los Angeles
  •     Aleksi Kurkela, CERN, Theory Division  
  •     Willibald Plessas, Universität Graz
  •     Norbert Kroo, Wigner RCP Budapest

Local Organizing Committee (Wigner RCP):

  •    Tamás Sándor Biró (Chair)
  •     Norbert Kroó
  •     Gergely Gábor Barnaföldi
  •     Sándor Varró

Link: pp2022.hu

(Picture: MTI)